New Berlin is a band from McAllen whose current lineup consists of Michael Flanagan, Gustavo Martinez, and Sebastian Garcia. New Berlin begins their Summer Tour 2017 today with their first stop at Beerland in Austin.

Listen to their new song “California Sun” exclusively at Neta.

5/27 Austin @ Beerland
5/28 New Orleans @ Hunters Field
5/29 Nashville,TN @ DRK MTTR
5/31 Washington, DC @ Slash Run
6/1 NYC @ Alphaville
6/2 Allentown,PA @ Consolidated Cardboard
6/3 Buffalo,NY @ Mohawk Place
6/4 Cleveland @ Now thats Class
6/5 Chicago @ The Empty Bottle
6/6 Minneapolis @ Seward Cafe
6/7 Kansas City @ Middle East
6/8 Tulsa,OK @ The Soundpony
6/9 DFW @ Shipping and Receiving
6/10 San Antonio,TX @ The Amp Room
6/12 Austin, TX @ Cheer Up Charlies
6/13 McAllen, TX @ Simon Sez

About New Berlin:
NEW BERLIN was conceived as a minimalist recording project in South Texas. The first live performances were as a one man band employing the use of drum machines and looping effects along with guitar playing and singing. Over the course of late 2015, various line-ups of musicians began to form around the songs and perform them live.

The rotating cast eventually solidified into a three piece consisting of MICHAEL FLANAGAN on guitar and vocals, GUSTAVO MARTINEZ on bass, and ANDREW RICHARDSON on drums. This line-up toured twice, first from Texas to Illinois in the Winter of 2015 supporting a 7” single in collaboration with Super Secret Records, and then again in the summer of 2016 from Texas to California supporting a second 7” single that was also released in collaboration with the same label.

In between tours, the group produced recordings at Sound of Rain in Edinburg, Texas, with help from engineers ALLEN JUAREZ and CHARLIE VELA. These recordings would eventually find themselves occupying the B-side of an album titled Basic Function. The A-side is comprised of recordings made between the summer and winter of 2015 before the band had coalesced.

Next:  Neta Creative and Cultural Fellow: Denni Arjona and Skank for Choice

The new record presents a history of New Berlin, from its beginnings as a living room recording experiment to its first attempts at working in a studio in Austin, Texas, with engineer IAN RUNDELL, and finally as a full-fledged band inspired by a few weeks touring during the winter through the heart of the United States. The current lineup of the band consists of Michael Flanagan, Gustavo Martinez, and Sebastian Garcia.